THE TURN TO YIDDISH IN POLAND TODAY: A CONVERSATION

Yiddish was once heard in Jewish neighborhoods throughout Poland as a language of daily life. It was also the language of literature, the press, films, and theater. Today, Yiddish returns to Poland in different roles: as a language of scholarship and as a language of heritage culture, bringing Poles and Jews together in new forms of contact to study, speak, write, and perform in Yiddish. 

This turn to Yiddish in contemporary Poland is an important part of a larger engagement with the Polish Jewish past and contributes to Yiddish culture around the world.

Join the next edition of TJHtalks, “The Turn to Yiddish in Poland Today: a Conversation” to hear more about the language of the Ashkenazi Jews. The webinar will feature Professors Jeffrey Shandler and Karolina Szymaniak.

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

PDT: 11:30 a.m.

CDT: 1:30 p.m.

EDT: 2:30 p.m.

UK: 7:30 p.m.

CET: 8:30 p.m.

Israel: 9:30 p.m.

Jeffrey Shandler is Distinguished Professor of Jewish Studies at Rutgers University. He is the author, editor, or translator of sixteen books, most recently, Yiddish: Biography of a Language (Oxford University Press, 2020). He is currently a visiting research fellow at the Center for Jewish History, New York.

Karolina Szymaniak  is Assistant Professor of Yiddish studies at the Jewish Historical Institute in Warsaw, Poland, and at Wrocław University’s Taube Jewish Studies Department. She is an academic advisor to the Center for Yiddish Culture in Warsaw, a researcher, editor, translator and language instructor.  She is on the staff at the Zuzanna Ginczanka High School in Warsaw.