Through the Viewfinder: Perspectives from Rising Filmmakers || #TJHTalks28

November 23, 2022 

PDT: 12:00 PM
CDT: 2:00 PM
EDT: 3:00 PM
UK: 8:00 PM
CET: 9:00 PM
Israel: 10:00 PM
AEDT(Australia): 7:00 AM (November 24)

Ivo Krankovski is a writer, director and producer based in London and Warsaw. He directed short films including “8 Stories That Haven’t Changed The World” and “A Memory Of Last Summer.” He received his masters in directing from Central Saint Martins in London. In 2019-2021, he was the literary collaborator and researcher for an award-winning Polish director, Paweł Pawlikowski. In 2022, Ivo began working on his documentary exploring how elementary school education can be improved all over the world. Ivo is currently developing a screenplay for his feature directorial debut, while simultaneously producing a comedy series and working on a feature film for Netflix.

Magda Makarczuk-Strehlau is the director of the Warsaw Jewish Film Festival and the Associate Director of the Los Angeles Jewish Film Festival. She is also one of the creators of the EU Jewish Film Center. Magda graduated with a degree in Management of Nonprofit Organizations from the University of Finance and Management in Białystok, Poland. For the last 10 years, Magda has been managing her own non-profit, Camera of David Foundation, the organizer of the Warsaw Jewish Film Festival. She also has experience working in international publishing companies as a publisher and a marketing manager. Magda lives in Warsaw and LA.

Oren Rudavsky is the director of the award-winning Oren Rudavsky Productions. An American documentary filmmaker, Rudavsky is a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and several National Endowment for the Humanities and National Endowment for the Arts grants. His films focus on individuals and communities outside the mainstream. Among his movies are ‘’Joseph Pulitzer: Voice of the People’’, ‘’Witness Theater, Colliding Dreams’’, “Time for School”, ‘’The Ruins of Lifta’’, ‘’A Life Apart: Hasidism in America’’, ‘’Hiding and Seeking’’, ‘’Spark Among the Ashes’’, ‘’At the Crossroads’’, ‘’Theater of the Palms’’, ‘’Dreams So Real” and “A Film About My Home’’.

Sharon Ryba-Kahn is a French-Israeli director who grew up in Germany and Israel and studied acting and film production in Paris and New York. Her first film, “Recognition” (2015) was screened at festivals worldwide. In 2016, she was accepted into the prestigious Film University Babelberg Konrad Wolf in Berlin. Sharon’s 2020 production, ‘’Displaced’’, was nominated for the First Steps award and won Best Newcomer Award at the Jewish Film Festival in Berlin in 2021. She is currently pursuing a Ph.D. on representations of trauma in Indigenous Australian cinema and is working on the final installment of her trilogy, “Love till 120 – Lessons of Love and Life.”

Roman Shumunov is an award winning Israeli film director, originally from Georgia. As a director, writer and producer of television and cinema projects, Roman has been involved in projects spanning multiple genres: from drama to documentary. His selected works include: “Munich 72” TV series, “Generation 1.5” TV series, “Berenshtein – The last Partisan” and “Back to Chernobyl.” His 2016 documentary, “Babylon Dreamers”, was selected to open the International Documentary Film Festival — DOCAVIV, winning the first prize and being awarded the festival prize at the 2018 Budapest International Documentary Festival.

Field Guide to Jewish Warsaw

Order today! USD 29.99

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *