Final Solutions: Genocides and Their Aftermaths

February 1, 2023

PST: 11:00 AM
EST: 2:00 PM
UK: 7:00 PM
CET: 8:00 PM
Israel: 9:00 PM

Konstanty Gebert is an internationally published journalist and former columnist for Gazeta Wyborcza, Poland’s largest daily, and the founder of the Polish-Jewish intellectual monthly magazine Midrasz, published from 1997 to 2019. Konstanty was a democratic opposition activist in the 1970s, during which time he also organized the Jewish Flying University, an underground group that met in secret to study and discuss Judaism and Jewish culture. The university was disbanded after martial law was declared in 1981 and Konstanty spent the subsequent decade working as an underground journalist. He has written more than ten books on subjects such as the Polish democratic transformation, French policy toward Poland, the Yugoslav wars, wars in Israel, Torah commentary, and post-war Polish Jewry. His essays have appeared in dozens of collections both in Poland and abroad, and his articles have been published in newspapers worldwide. He has taught in Poland, Israel, and the United States.

Dariusz Stola is the former Director of the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews in Warsaw. A historian of 20th-century Polish history, Dr. Stola is a fellow at the Institute of Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences, and the Center for Migration Research, Warsaw University. He has published nine books and more than a hundred articles on international migrations in the 20th century, the Communist regime in Poland, Polish-Jewish relations and the Holocaust. His book A Country with No Exit? Migrations from Poland, 1949-1989 is the first comprehensive monograph on international mobility from a Communist country. He is recipient of the Taube Philanthropies’ Irena Sendler Memorial Award and the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

Field Guide to Jewish Warsaw

Order today! USD 29.99