Every Family Has a Story

in commemoration of Yom HaShoah

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Please join us to honor the families, their descendants,
and their advocates, who together have transmitted
an unforgettable story of survival in the Holocaust`
through testimonies, literature,

and the docudrama No Place On Earth.

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

PDT: 12:00-1:15 PM

CDT: 2:00-3:15 PM

EDT: 3:00-4:15 PM

UK: 8:00-9:15 PM

CET: 9:00-10:15 PM

Israel: 10:00-11:15 PM

No Place On Earth brings to light the untold story of thirty-eight Polish Jews who survived World War II by living in caves for eighteen months, the longest-recorded sustained underground survival.

Built upon interviews with survivors, as well as Chris Nicola, the caving enthusiast who unearthed the story, No Place On Earth is an extraordinary testament to ingenuity, willpower, and endurance against all odds.

REGISTER HERE & RECEIVE A LINK TO THE DOCUDRAMA FILM
FOR FREE STREAMING PRIOR TO THE EVENT.


SPEAKERS:

Randi Dodick Fields 

Randi's father, Cecil Dodick, was born in 1927 in the town of Korolowka, which was then Poland. He immigrated to Canada with his immediate family in the early 1930s, but many of his cousins remained in Korolowka and are among the survivors portrayed in the film.
Randi is currently the Senior Director of Membership and Engagement Operations at Congregation Emanu-El.

Chris Nicola

Chris is a retired Senior Investigator for New York State and caving expert who, in 1993, discovered the hiding places of three Jewish families in the caves of western Ukraine. He undertook a ten-year quest to find the survivors and was able to bring some of them back to the caves where they had lived 50 years previously.

Janet Tobias

Janet is an award-winning director, producer, and writer who began her film and television career at CBS’s 60 Minutes as Diane Sawyer’s associate producer. In addition to producing and co-writing No Place on Earth (2012), she has also directed the documentary Unseen Enemy (2017) on the threat of pandemics, Memory Games (2018) on the brain’s potential for memorization, and is currently working on a film about Dr. Anthony Fauci.

Dr. Natalia Romik 

Natalia is an architect and Holocaust researcher known notably for her scholarly work: “Hideouts: The Architectural Analysis of the Secret Infrastructure of Jewish Survival during the Second World War,” in which she examines, through archival material, oral history, and site visits, the physical and emotional dimensions of Jewish remnant hiding places.

Shana Penn, moderator

Shana is Executive Director of Taube Philanthropies and a scholar-in-residence at the Graduate Theological Union’s Center for Jewish Studies, in Berkeley. She is the author of books and articles including the award-winning Solidarity’s Secret: The Women Who Defeated Communism in Poland (University of Michigan Press, 2005).